Lizzie Wilcock’s New Book

Standard

Here it is! Finally! My new book, The Day The World Ended– Part One in the two-book Extinction Series. Sorry for the long delay between books, but having a baby (and the sleepless nights that followed for the next three and a half years and are still occuring) has slowed me down. The ideas and the passion for writing are definitely alive, unfortunately when I get the time for writing, my body just wants to sleep.

Somehow I must have managed to do some writing because I have three novels coming out in 2011. This one, The Day The World Ended is different from my first two novels – Losing It and griEVE. It’s an adventure story with kicks and twists and travel to exotic places – in the present and in the past. The book is not due for release until  March 2011. Here’s the blurb from the back of the book to whet your appetite.

‘The world is going to end of September 21st. We know this because we’ve seen it. We were there.’

Mac and Annie Sword are the only survivors when humanity is wiped out, or so they think. A mysterious website reveals they are not alone – and that they have the ability to undo the mass-extinction. But there is someone who will do anything to stop them . . .

A thrilling new series from acclaimed author Lizzie Wilcock.

9 responses »

  1. I got the book and it is sooooo good. If you are looking for a great book you have came to the right place!!
    So hard to put down and when I finally did my mind was still buzzing with thoughts and amusement.
    I have even got the matching bookmark!

  2. hi lizzie
    i just read your most recent book “Extention”it was fantastic i cant wait until u bring out the next one because i was left hanging due to the shocking and sudden ending. i am 11 years of age and found the start quiete confronting i soon got into to your real page turner of a novel and i couldn’t stop. i literally finished the book 5minute ago i had to get straight on the net to find out if it was one of a series so i could get it as soon as possible. i cant wait till u bring the next one out.
    yours sincerely
    nicolas jarvis

    • Hi Nicolas
      Thanks for your comment. I’m glad you liked the book. You won’t have to wait too long for the next one. It comes out in August. My publishers have made a book trailer for extinction and I’ll be uploading it to the site soon. Check it out and send it to all your friends. Thanks for your support!
      Lizzie

  3. Love the book Liz. It has a kind of sneaky sense of humour about it too. Congratulations. Can’t wait for the next one. I was so happy to be invited to the launch- Vicki xx

    • Hi Vicki
      A sneaky sense of humour? You are the first person to say that, so I’m glad you picked up on it. Maybe it’s too subtle for younger readers. Thanks for coming to my launch and thanks for brekkie the next day. I will let you know if I’m coming to mSydney for the writers festival.

  4. I love Extinction!! It had tonnes of excitement jammed into every page!!! I can’t wait to see if Extinction 2 has a higher, lower or the same level excitement!!! Does it have to be released in August??? August is too long to wait so how about changing it to lets say…TOMORROW!!! How does that sound??? ( 😆 )

    • Hi Jpingu
      What a great review of Extinction! Thanks. I should ask my publishers to put your comments on the back of Extinction 2. I think Extinction 2: The Explosive Conclusion will not disappoint you. The action is much higher, secrets are revealed, danger is at every turn, interspersed with some wisecracks from Mac! I love it and so will you. Sorry i can’t release it tomorrow. I have the manuscript on my computer but my publishers would have a fit if I revealed any of it. Only seven more weeks to wait. That’s 49 sleeps. Try reading The Conspiracy 365 series. That’s what I’m reading at the moment. Gabrielle Lord. Twelve books in the series. They should keep you going.

  5. Lizzie,

    I left a messsage here earlier on in the term. I have just rechecked and notcied you have offered to send me Year 5 work to assist with teaching Extinction. My kids are still loving it and would love some work to go with the novel if you have any. Thanks so much. kirsty.holmes1@det.nsw.edu.au
    Trying hard to get the libraby to buy a class set of the second novel so we can continue next term.

    Kind Regards
    Kirsty Holmes

Leave a Reply

