You’re never too young, or too old to enjoy Extinction!

Standard
The Newcastle Herald, The Weekender

I have been receiving amazing feedback from my fans, young and old, about “Extinction: The Day The World Ended.” I remember reading once that the test of a good children’s book is that adults enjoy it too. The article was referring to C.S Lewis‘s Narnia Series. Whilst I am not placing Extinction: The Day The World Ended in such high and distinguised company as these acclaimed books, it is nice to know that it’s not just 12 year olds who love and are buying my book.

One woman commented that Extinction: The Day The World Ended has a “cheeky sense of humour”. I’m sure kids have noticed that too. There are many layers in my story and something different unfolds on each reading and with each reader.
Another adult fan told me that he reads lots of apocalyptic fiction and that he liked the different take on it that Extinction had. And he loved the cliff-hanger ending.
 
My four year old daughter, Isla, loves the fact that the book has been dedicated to her. When I showed her the ‘For Isla’  dedication at the beginning of the book, she recognised her name and then ran off with the book, believing it to be hers. When a fan approached me recently at Isla’s gymnastic’s class, asking for me to sign her copy of the book, Isla grabbed the book and wouldn’t give it back. “It’s mine,” she told the woman. I can’t wait to start reading Extinction to her. I know she is a little young yet, but I have students in Year 2 (age 7) who are reading, and loving my book.
 
So how can publishers accurately put an age on a book? To do so will potentially limit the book’s audience. I know it’s necessary at the younger end of the scale, but to shelve C.S Lewis’s books in the children’s section is doing his brillaint stories, and others, a great disservice. And for readers, don’t bypass the children’s section, thinking that you are too “grown-up” for a great adventure story. No-one ever is.
8 responses »

  1. I’m sure that whoever has read the first book of Extinction- the day the world ended- will be go waiting out side a book shop for the second book…. That’s how good the first one is. Anybody who hasn’t read it yet and knows about it is CRAZY! I go nuts if I don’t read it once a week. I try not to bend the pages because I’ll be reading it for the next 20 years- I don’t want the book to go wonky.

    • Hi Moodydude
      Thanks for finding my website. And thanks for loving Extinction: the Day the World Ended. I am so proud of this series and it makes me sooo happy to see all the kids at school reading it and loving it too. I would have felt awful if they had bought it , just because I am their teacher, and didn’t like it. But comments like this from you make me feel great. Did you check out the book trailer? How cool is that?

  2. I totally believe that! My mother read this series, and she LOVED it as much as I did! (by the way, I really really extremely etc. LOVED it! I also love mystery book, so I read the Nancy Drew series. after I read all the books of N.D in the library 3 times each, I moved onto the Hardy BOys. ON the back their reccommended ages were from 8-12. Now I know, if I had been 10 and reading the Hardy Boys, I would have been absolutely FREAKED OUT! I still get a bit scared anyway! so I think it would personally suit me at the age of 12-13+. SO that is totally true that you ‘can’t put an age on a book’

  3. What a teaser you made at the end of Extinction the day the world ended. I couldn’t wait to get the next one. Now that I’ve got it I can’t put it down. I’m nearly at the end of it and I’m a bit sad because I don’t want it to end. It’s that good. How did you come up with the names and locations of where the purest element is?

    • I mean the names of the characters and locations of where the purest element is. Why not Canada or someplace else?

      • The character’s names came off an internet baby name site, and I needed them to be Gaelic or Greek and have a meaning of one of the four elements. It was all a lot of fun, creating a puzzle that kids love solving.

        Lizzie

    • Hi Brendan
      Thanks for your questions and for loving Extinction. When I was researching the purest elements, I just googled the information. There were many answers to what was the actual purest of each element, so I chose the ones I liked, and that allowed my characters to travel around the world a bit. I used some information from the internet and just changed the name of the place, eg: Cape Grimm in Tasmania is where the purest air is, but I changed the name to Cape Green. The purest or oldest water is in Northern Egypt, in the Quattarah depression, so that stayed the same in the book. The purest fire, well that came out of my imagination and the belief that the sun is the best source of fire. The purest Earth I changed to the purest diamond to make the kids have a city experience. A big diamond was found in Western Australia in the 1940s and later sold to a museum. So, as you can see, the book is a clever mix of imagination and fact, with just the right mix to make it believable and plausible.

Leave a Reply

