Happy New Year!

Standard

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all of you! 2012 holds many new challenges for me, and for you too, I hope. When I think back to the start of 2011, I had such a huge year ahead. I still had the final touches on Extinction 1 to do for Scholastic, and the rewrite of Extinction 2. And as always happened, just as I was finishing one deadline, my other publishers (Little Hare)would send me an edit or rewrite to do on Give Me Four Reasons. My mind was constantly switching from Annie and Mac and saving the world, to Paige and her personal dilemmas starting high school. I’m surprised that I never accidentally gave Paige powers over water so she could create a thunderstorm to drench her enemies at high school!

2012 brings new beginnings for me. I am returning to full time teaching, which I am absolutely excited about!! Yes, I really am! I love writing and I love teaching primary school, but after concentrating on my writing so much for the last five years (whilst teaching Art and Drama part time), I’m ready to get back into teaching a class. I am having Year 5 and they are a great bunch of kids. I know, because I had them every week last year for Art and Drama.

This doesn’t mean that my writing takes a back seat. I will continue writing and I hope to have a new novel out in 2014. That sounds like such a long time to wait, but it takes me about a year to write a book, and then a year of editing and proofreading and preparing for publication. So you can understand why last year was such a freakish year for me, having three books published! But that was the result of four years of hard work.

I will keep you updated on my progress. I will be doing some school and library visits to continue to promote the Extinction Series and Give Me Four Reasons. And I will also be appearing at a Science Fiction festival in Sydney. More details on that one later.

So keep rereading my books and writing to me. And keep clicking on the youtube book trailer for Extinction. Let’s make movie production companies sit up and take notice!

Lizzie

3 responses »

    • Hi Luke
      Honestly, I’m too busy getting my head around being back teaching a class full time to even think about the next book. Hopefully when I’m settled in I’ll be able to start writing again. But keep checking my website from time to time for updates.

      Lizzie

Leave a Reply

