Teacher’s Notes For Extinction

Standard

I have just finished studying Extinction 1 with my Year Five Class. I always enjoy reading novels and studying their unique features but this was the first time I have ever used one of my own books as the novel. Our wonderful school librarian purchased a class set of the books and presented them to me. It was then up to me to write a set of teacher’s notes and activities to go with them. This was easy, as I had the inside scoop on the author’s purpose, the themes, character motivations, etc. I had all the answers. But rather than just know the answers to each and every question that my class could throw at me, I was able to share early drafts and deleted scenes of the novel with them. I could discuss the editorial process, the fermentation of my ideas, the research I did and where the names of my characters and places came from. I could even tell them hilarious stories of how I had to actually test whether it was indeed possible to slip on sanitised hand gel if it was spilt on a linoleum floor (like Dr Sinclair did in Ghost Crab Cove hospital). My class especially loved reading the deleted scenes. It was a bit like watching the extras on a DVD, complete with director’s commentary.

So if you want to read some of these deleted scenes, click on the Teacher’s Notes – Extinction tab at the top of the home page. Perhaps you could get some ideas from there if ever you are asked to do a book report on one of your favourite books (which I hope may be Extinction!) And teachers, if you’re looking for an action/adventure novel to read with your class, the teacher’s notes are very comprehensive. So check them out . . .

2 responses »

  1. I rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy loved doing that. Can we do it with Extinction 2 once. Or maybe give me four reasons, or any book you’ve done!

    • Hi Arthy
      Sorry I haven’t replied sooner, but I have been busy working on my new novel, which I will tell you guys all about next term. I hope you have a great holiday. I really liked the scene in the classroom on Friday morning. I have been telling everyone how cool it was and how much it touched me that you guys thought enough of my book to do that for me. Have fun!!

      Lizzie

Leave a Reply

