September 21st, 2012. The Day The World Ended?

Standard

Well, September 21st, 2012 – The Day The World Ended in my Extinction series – has come and gone and we are still here. But I did get a bit of a shock on the morning of September 21st. It was a Friday, and the last day of Term 3 in NSW schools. I had read and studied Extinction: The Day The World Ended earlier in the term with my Year 5 class and they had brought in some amazing novel response projects for me that week- board games based on the Extinction series, novellas about tragedy, new cover designs, new book trailers, websites dedicated to Extinction, Extinction chapters made into movies, and movie castings for the novel. They are a clever bunch of students. On that Friday morning they had a little treat in store for me. When I walked in the classroom all of my students were dead! Slumped over their desks, lying on the carpet, head down on the computer keyboard. No fingers twitched. No mouths murmured. No giggling erupted from their still and silent forms. Realising what was happening, and how much they must have loved my novel to have organised and pulled this off so brilliantly without me twigging to it, I applauded them. A standing ovation (everyone else was dead on the floor) for this well-orchestrated event. I wish I had had my camera. How cool was this?

I have been telling all my friends about this and tears come to my eyes as I do – tears of pride and absolute enjoyment at having such a wonderful class.

Thankyou 5B.

Leave a Reply

